A Sicky & His Stargate Pictures

I should be sick in bed at home, but instead I’m sick at Starbucks.  I’m stuffed-up enough to be incoherent but the exchange I had with the barista confuses me…

She – Hi!
Me – Hey, how are ya?
She – What?
Me – (I lean in closer) How are ya?
She – What?
Me – Nevermind. Extra hot latte please
She – I’m good, how are you?
Me – …

Volker reacts to the Barista.

I actually enjoy getting sick, it allows Me to be Me, guilt free.  Sleep in. Phone off the hook. 3 Naps. Bathrobe. 30min shower.  Soup.  Xbox.  DVR.  Podcasts.  Hot tea.  I’m a sedentary person and this is a forced vacation.  Sure, I wake up with dry mouth & wonder how many spiders crawled into my mouth, but I know there’s a hot shower and a nap a mere hour away.

Let’s get to some pictures.  SGU is winding down and I’m not sure how I’ll react in a week when it’s over.  I’ve been busy enough to stay distracted but I’ve been sitting still the last two days.  I’ve had ‘Fantasia on a Theme’ by Thomas Tallis on repeat. Morose? Maybe.  But doesn’t it get you excited for the future?

So…’Epilogue’, it breaks my heart every time I watch it.  It also contains a better cap to Brody’s character than I could have ever imagined…

"Get off my lawn!"

I can’t express to you how talented every department was in SGU.  I remember on the set of ‘Blockade’  between takes just wandering through the street set taking pictures.  After 2000 years our ancestors may have spoken the same language, but the spelling had morphed.  SGU Set Dec went all out on the littlest details…

A wink to SG1?

Cool stuff, right?!  Here’s Peter getting into Monkey mode…

A lot of late nights which made us all punchy and so our regular ratio of work to laughter, 33% – 66%, was skewed to a solid 10-90.

Not so tough now, hey Bitch?!

And of course this culminated in the reappearance of the curious monkey named Kelamis…Peter Kelamis is ‘The Monkey & The Drone’.

Alright…I can’t even taste my coffee.  Back to bed and my Ally McBeal marathon.

-pg-

This entry was posted in Acting, Music, On Set, Starbucks, Stargate Universe, TV. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Sicky & His Stargate Pictures

  1. Suvi says:

    Awesome details in the set! That is amazing! Loving it. I bet it was great to work in a set like that. Everything is done to the smallest detail. I just don’t have the words to describe how amazing that is! Oh, I’m so jealous that you have had the chance to work there. I would love to get a chance to even act in a small tv show… Well, I just have to be happy with my amateur theatre career 🙂
    Oh, and even though it’s nice to just to do nothing and watch Ally McBeal 😉 while being sick, I hope you get better 🙂

  2. chevron7 says:

    I hadn’t heard Fantasia on a Theme before but me likey..have you ever thought of writing a scene for a piece of music like that rather than the other way around?

    I don’t mind being home sick…annoying when you have to get off the couch to get food though. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

    This might amuse you…you know when someone greets you unexpectedly and you mess up words?

    Waiter at Indian Takeaway as I was leaving: “Thanks for coming”
    Me: “You too”

    ….expected him to say have a nice evening…LOL

    Awesome pics..we get to see Blockade tonight..interesting that bicykels still looked the same…but what was the thing on the back wheel?

    Had another look at Monkey and the drone and finally spotted it…vids have been stalling and jumping on me lately..ugh!!…too funny Peter.

    Cheers, Chev

  3. PBMom says:

    Do you know what it reminded me of (Peter’s performance in Blocade?) Do you remember Donkey Kong for the Super Nintendo? When you would complete a level and the grandpa Kong would be in the corner with his cane and do his monkey (eh, eh, eh) but above the translation would look like, “In my day….” I tried to see if I could find it on YouTube, but no luck. Do you remember that Patrick?

    Sorry to hear you are still sick. I’m telling you — regular nasal irrigations with a Neti pot or doing it old school with saline solution and a baby nasal aspirator that you suck up the saline solution (I can give you the proportions) and then you lean forward in the sink and stick the nasal aspirator up your nose and squeeze the bulb tight and fast. You can lean your head back a little bit and then move it side to side and then lean forward and let the water come out. You repeat on both sides until saline solution is gone. I had to do this after my sinus surgery and I never got a sinus infection again (had to do it on a semi-regular basis to keep it clear after that). . Whenever my nose starts stuffing up, I just do this and things get much better.

  4. zurg says:

    Meh. It’s kind of depressing to think that the descendants of the Destiny crew reverted to LOLcat speak over the course of 2000 years. It must have been Eli’s fault.

  5. Chris says:

    Peter vs the Drone led me to Peter vs the Pilon, which then led me to this:

    Classic!

  6. I agree, Starbucks and Xbox are always good cure for what ails you. Feel better soon. 🙂

    The amateur linguist in me literally SQUEED when I saw the different spelling. Totally something to expect from us lazy humans over time. Props to the Art Dept for that. Hell, props to everyone who worked on that show. I’m going to miss the hell out of it.

  7. The Recreator says:

    I still can’t get over the fact that they used the Futura font for The Cobalt Cinema’s typeface. 😀

  8. carol says:

    Hope you’re better soon. I just saw Blockade again. Thanks for posting the pics; you can’t see that much detail on the tv sreen. Did you know there is a SGU marathon Monday leading into the final episode on SYFY channel? Wish it wasn’t ending.
    Pretty sure I saw you in a bar scene from BSG earlier today. Weird, I was reading your blog one minute and getting whiplash 10 minutes later. It looked like the pic from the airport not like Volker. That’s how I recognized you. Best Wishes………..

  9. Michelle says:

    Hey Patrick. I just wanted to say that over the past few weeks I’ve been watching Stargate Universe and I gotta say you’re quite possibly my fav actor on the show! It’s a great show and I’m really sad to hear that it’s over 😦 Hopefully it’ll come back to life down the road as I’d love to see you as Volker again!
    Missing you already…..

  10. wow I am glad I looked up your birthday I have had fun rummaging in your memories. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

